Spotlight Interview

Shh, I am Reading’s Author Spotlight: J.O. Quantaman

Hi Readers!

I am happy to bring to you my first Author Spotlight!

JOQ

Recently, I had interviewed author J.O. Quantaman about himself and a bit about his science fiction novel Loose Threads: Cool Assassin’s 1.

LTcov2

I would like to think J.O. for allowing me the chance to interview him.

Synopsis:
Nyssa has spent years in virtual bondage to a Japanese pimp before she landed at Dog Breakfast, a co-op dedicated to urban security and espionage. She is welcomed despite her woeful past. She begins training as an operative and soon finds the physical hurdles almost beyond reach. But she can’t turn back because the co-op has become “home” and if she fails she’d mess up her chances with Cook. Kazuo has lost touch with the stone fox he met at the ski resort. He will meet her again, but in a way he doesn’t expect.

Can you tell us a little about yourself and your background?
University trained, I’ve worked as photographer, fishing guide, cab driver, author and software developer. At present I’m semiretired. I meet with a writers’ critique group as I work on the sequel.

What inspired you to write “Loose Threads: Cool Assassins 1”?
I’ve always been a voracious reader. I admire authors who dramatize unusual societies and “what if” thought experiments. Some ideas always get ignored because they’re too controversial. I got tired waiting for an established author to tackle such off-the-wall themes, so I tried it myself. Little did I realize how much work was involved…

What is the genre?
Very tough question. I write historical fiction that happens to occur around the 2070s. What does that make me? A sci-fi author? I have no interest in predictions. If anything, my characters dramatize how our current society might evolve if humans take a certain crooked road.

What draws you to this genre?
I love reading good history books. Some of the best, in my opinion, are fictional histories because readers can see and hear and smell through the fictional characters. Fictional history brings strange or alien customs to life.

How did you develop your plot and your characters?
I let my characters determine how the plot will evolve. If my characters get lost in action, I need a friendly editor or outside observer to put me and my characters back on track.

What inspired your protagonist?
I’ve had the good fortune to meet with several very strong women. My protagonist for “Loose Threads” is a composite of these.

How did you get in touch with your inner villain?
Crimes only happen because there is opportunity for profit. Serial killers wouldn’t get very far if they got caught attacking their 1st-victims. I want to live in a society where most crimes simply aren’t profitable, so citizens have better things to do. An honest person exerts 70% less energy to achieve the same goal as a dishonest person. So let’s make sure the dishonest person gets 70% less reward for his efforts.

What was the hardest part to write in “Loose Threads”?
Editing. Correcting. Rewriting and then more editing.

What was your favorite part of your book to write?
eBooks are never finished. They can be updated a-thousand times if necessary. I’d like to reach the point where I put the final period on “Loose Threads.”

Are you a full time or a part time writer? If part time, what do you do besides write?
I’m a full time writer though I procrastinate enough to be a part time writer. When I’m not writing, I’m reading, surfing online, walking, cooking or stubbing my toes.

What are you currently reading?
This month I’ve read or am reading: “Rise of the Robots” by Martin Ford; “Empire of Cotton” by Sven Beckert; “Black Hills” by Dan Simmons; “Lili” by Schlomo Kalo; “Esquelle and the Tesla Protocol” by Joe Dacy II; “The Blacker Death” by Larry Enright; “Diablo Nights” by Carmen Amato; “Run Girl” by Eva Hudson.

Who would you say are your favorite authors?
Colleen McCullough, Greg Bear, Connie Willis, Cixin Liu and dozens of others.

How about your favorite books? What would be your top 5?
“Darwin’s Radio” by Greg Bear;
“To Say Nothing of the Dog” by Connie Willis;
“The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest” by Steg Larsson;
“Song of Troy” by Colleen McCullough;
“Caesar’s Women” by Colleen McCullough.

What are your future projects, if any?
I am writing the sequel “Hot Wheels” and researching backdrops and plot ideas for subsequent sequels.

What is your preferred method for readers to get in touch with you and your books?
My Website has forms for comments or questions on every page.

Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?
There are hundreds of thousands of new books published each year, so don’t expect to become a bestselling author overnight. It may take years or decades to establish a reputation. Meanwhile focus on making your book as error-free and enjoyable as possible.

If you check him out on his website, you can access the prologue and the first three chapters of Loose Threads: Cool Assassin’s 1. As well as a “behind the scenes” of his novel.

Thank you again to J.O. Quantaman.

Where to Buy:
Amazon CAN
Amazon US

 

 

2 thoughts on “Shh, I am Reading’s Author Spotlight: J.O. Quantaman

Leave a Reply

