Spotlight Interview · Uncategorized

Shh, I am Reading Spotlight Interview

Hi my readers!

Last month, February, I read “Ripping Solace” by Gabriela Aguilar. Needless to say, I liked it, a lot. I offered a spotlight interview to Gabriela because I feel she is a flower just starting to blossom and more people need to read her stuff! Seriously though, check her out. If you enjoy dystopian, post apocalyptic, zombie creatures with a bit of romance and young adult all tied together, you’ll enjoy Ripping Solace.

So let’s take a peek at Gabriela Aguilar and why she wrote Ripping Solace!

1. What inspired you to write Ripping Solace?
It all started with a good friend of mine (I actually just texted her to ask her how it all began hahaha). I began to tell her a story of two people who were developing a bond through letters. She wanted to hear more and more. It kinda got crazy from there.

2. How did you develop your plot? 
It starts with a blank piece of paper. I draw a bubble and give it a name. I interrogate the bubble until I get all the details of its life. Then, I draw another bubble and do the same, and when I have a bunch of bubbles, I see how I can connect them. Once I have them all tangled in a nice spider web, I think: what is the worst possible thing that could happen to them? Oh, I make them so miserable (muahahaha).

I know it sounds really weird, but that’s how I get the story rolling.

3. Are your characters pieces of you or other people in your life? 
Yes, most of them are. Momo and 13 personalities are based on my 10 and 9-year-old sisters. The 10-year-old is serious and mature and a worrywart. The little one is just nuts. (This has me giggling. I can just imagine! – Leticia, Shh I am Reading)

4. How did you get in touch with your inner villain? 
Hmm, I don’t see characters as good or bad. I try to give each character a secret, and that secret drives their actions. No matter what happens, they can’t contradict their secret. Whether the choices they make are bad or good, it all depends on that condition.

5. What would you say Ripping Solace is as a genre? 
Is weird a genre? I’m just kidding. I was aiming for a YA/adventure. (Weird is totally a genre! I’ve had some weird ones, but bad weird! – Leticia, Shh I am Reading)

6. What drew you to this genre? 
I like to read books where young people are given the chance to grow and develop as a person.  

7. What was the hardest part to write in the book? 
Besides the editing part, I think it’s the emotional roller coaster that comes with writing the story.

I didn’t expect I would be in a bad mood because a main character is having a bad day, or that I would mourn someone who died inside my head. It tends to get a little overwhelming sometimes.

8. What was your favourite part of Ripping Solace?
Any Momo and 13 scene. It’s so much fun to see how they play off of each other. (Personally, Momo and 13’s scene’s were the best part of the book! – Leticia, Shh I am Reading)

9. Are you a full time writer? Or are you a part time writer? 
I wish I was a full time writer! I’m a nighttime writer. I work during the day and get as much writing done as I can during the night. It’s almost like being Batman but without all the cool gadgets and the costume and all the muscles. (And the bat cave! Unless you have that, then well, your level of awesome just went up! Lol. – Leticia, Shh I am Reading)

10. What would you be if you weren’t an author? 
I’d be a serial murderer. Just kidding. I haven’t thought about that, but I’d probably like to work with animals. Working in a circus would be pretty cool!

11. What are you currently reading? 
I’m almost done with The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss. It’s amazing.  

12. What are some recommendations of books or authors that you enjoy? 
Some of my favorite books are:
The Little Prince
Ender’s Game  
The Giver
A Wrinkle in Time
Fight Club

Also, some of the best stories I’ve read are mangas like Cat Street, Fullmetal Alchemist , Gintama… the list goes on and on.

So many authors! Let’s see:
Clamp
Patrick Rothfuss
Douglas Adams
Masashi Kishimoto
Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Jane Austin
The master of them all: J.R.R. Tolkien.

13. What are your future projects? 
I hope I can finish this series, and I’m also trying to work on a different story. I’ve always wanted to do a coming of age story, so let’s see how that goes.

14. What is your preferred method for readers to get in touch with you? 
The best way right now is via Facebook.
https://www.facebook.com/Ripping-Solace-749702071789050/

15. Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?
Be kind and patient with yourself, and find at least one person you can talk to about your story. It makes all the difference. 

I would like to thank Gabriela for allowing me to interview her and being such an awesome author to work with.
I really do encourage you to seek out Gabriela Aguilar and Ripping Solace. The second book to Ripping Solace has recently come out, thus the story continues. I hope more people join me and Gabriela on this journey with Momo and V!

 

2 thoughts on “Shh, I am Reading Spotlight Interview

Leave a Reply

