Spotlight Interview

Spotlight Interview with Taylor Verrier

Hi Readers,

Recently, I had the chance to interview the author Taylor Verrier about herself and her science fiction novel Clarity.

1. Can you tell us a little about yourself and your background?
I’m an eighteen year old female author from South London, England. I’ve been writing since I was ten, starting out by writing scripts and then I began writing Clarity when I was fourteen.

2. What inspired you to write Clarity?
I love to read science fiction books and watch Sci-Fi movies/TV shows, but I did feel like a lot of characters weren’t very relatable. They didn’t seem like they had many flaws or made mistakes. I wanted to write a character that was very “human” and I really wanted to show the evolution of the character.

3. What is the genre?
Science Fiction.

4. What draws you to this genre?
I enjoy the lack of limitations that comes from writing sci-fi. Anything is possible with science fiction.

5. How did you develop your protagonist?
When it came to my main character, I took the time to figure out her biggest hopes and fears, what she would want in the future, what her childhood was like, that sort of personal information. None of that necessarily meant anything to the main plot of the book, but it helped me to understand my character more.

6. What inspired your antagonist?
A mixture of different people that I’ve seen and known inspired my main antagonist. People that just want to tear you down and see you fail.

TaylorVerrier
7. What was the hardest part to write in the book?
I can’t recall a specific scene or chapter that was especially hard to write, but I do remember it being very difficult for me when I was about 3/4 through the book because I had the whole ending planned out, but I had trouble figuring out how to get to that point.

8. What was your favourite part of your book to write?
I enjoyed writing the scenes between my main character, Clarity, and the secondary character, Xen.

9. Are you a full time or a part time writer? If part time, what do you do besides write?
I’m a full time writer.

10. What are you currently reading?
I’m rereading I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou.

11. Who would you say are your favourite authors?
Suzanne Collins and Maya Angelou.

12. How about your favourite books? What would be your top 5?
The first two books in The Hunger Games trilogy, I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings, Ava Gardner: The Secret Conversations and Divergent.

13. What are your future projects, if any?
I am currently writing the sequel to Clarity as well as another science fiction/fantasy book.

14. What is your preferred method for readers to get in touch with you and your books?
Anybody can get in touch with me through Twitter.

Where to Buy Clarity:
Amazon CAN Amazon UK Amazon US

Leave a Reply

