50 Books in a Year · Book in exchange for honest review · Book Reviews · Sunday Short and Sweet Review

Soul Possessed by Katlyn Duncan

Short and Sweet

 
Genre:
Young Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy
Publisher: Carina UK
Date of Release: October 2013
Pages: 256 pages
Format: Mobi
Links: Author WebsiteFacebookTwitter

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My Rating:
3.75 Stars
3 Stars

Summary:

“Life after Life

Now Maggie has been given the chance of her after-life to become a Guard, nothing will stand in her way. Not even the undeniable attraction she feels for her trainer and past love–Jackson. But when the battle between Shadowed and Guard begins again which side will she choose?

When her boss, Felix, partners Jackson and Maggie up with Ally and Cooper to investigate terrifying Shadowed activity in a small New England town, she doesn’t think it could get any worse. Jackson and Cooper barely tolerate each other and this time, Maggie isn’t just proving her loyalty to the Guard during one mission…she has a side mission too. One so secret and so dangerous she can’t tell a soul…”

I received this eBook from the author in exchange for an honest review. 

Hmm, I wasn’t so enamored with this book like I was with the first one. I think this book suffered from “Second Book Syndrome.” This book fell pretty flat for me.

So.
Maggie is in the Guard now. Having managed to prove herself as Guard material and such. And she’s training with Jackson, her ex boyfriend and possible double agent. Huh.

The best part of the book I shall keep quiet about, as to not ruin it but I’m glad that Jackson did that for Maggie. Having a sense of family was very important for Maggie.

There really were more questions than answers in this book. Like, what the heck kind of powers does Maggie have? Why is Felix such an enigma? What the heck is Robert up to? Who took Jamie?
I understand that books must build up to the conclusion but this book felt like it would never end because it slowed down and lost the pace that the first book had. That tends to take away from the enjoyment of reading for me.

Stay tuned for the third novel’s review!

Where to Buy:
Amazon CAN | Amazon US | Kobo | Barnes & Noble

About the Author:


I’ve been writing and reading since I can remember. My fondest memories were pushing mom out of the house to get the latest Goosebumps installment. Even though I went to school and worked in the field of science, my head has always been in the clouds.

Outside of writing, I enjoy spending time with my hubs, pup, and sometimes a good rom com.

Leave a Reply

