Spotlight Interview · Spotlight Interview Thursdays

November Fox by E.E. Bertram

glow in the dark

Hi Readers! I hope you had a great Halloween!
I have a wonderful interview with E.E. Bertram about her novel, most suiting to the month, November Fox – Book 1: Following Joy. Enjoy!

Can you tell us a little about yourself and your background?

I was born in Australia. My mother is from the top of Finland in Lapland and my father is from the bottom of Australia in Melbourne so I grew up with very different influences from polar opposite hemispheres. When I was 23, I move to Berlin, Germany pursuing my career as a performing singer/songwriter. My intention was only to stay for 6 months to do the festival circuit, yet things started happening for me in my music career and I ended up touring Europe for almost a decade and it wasn’t until last year, 14 years later, that I returned back to Australia. For the past 10 years I’ve been living in England and that’s when my book-writing career commenced, back in 2010.

What inspired you to write?

I’ve been writing songs since I was a child, and my main inspiration has always been my life experience and the thoughts and emotions I have in response to world and people around me. I have always felt like without a creative outlet for the deep feelings and thoughts I have, I may just explode as they are too much. It has always been a natural expression.

What inspired your novel?

Writing my first novel was driven by a deeper yearning beyond self-expression. I felt a strong desire to do my part in inspiring the next generation of readers to find their purpose in life and ask deeper questions, ultimately so they can live more fulfilling lives. In a way November Fox is a self-help book yet it is wrapped up in a crazy sci-fi fantasy story. My travels as a touring and recording singer songwriter around the world have also influenced the writing. My extensive lucid dream experiences have also been fundamental in what inspired me to write in the first place. Within the lucid realm, where you can actively manifest desired realities, I learnt the art of intention and conscious creation, so a lot of the book is based upon my Insights and direct experience with thought power.

What is the genre?

Visionary Fiction. It wasn’t a conscious decision to become a visionary fiction author. My first editor was actually the person who told me that I fall within this genre. I haven’t even heard of it until after the book was written. The most famous Visionary Fiction book is The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho, and I suppose November Fox has some similarities in the fact that it is a fable and it has ancient wisdom mixed within the quest like tale. Other reviewers have said it has Alice in Wonderland like qualities, purely for its idiosyncratic nature and the fact November Fox tumbles through a rainbow portal into the other dimensions, and meets fantastical characters along the way. There are quite a few sci/fi elements as I have curiosities with quantum physics and artificial intelligence and the future of mankind, so that’s all wrapped up into the mix as well.

What draws you to this genre?

I love the mixture of combining ancient wisdom within modern storytelling, and because the subject of consciousness is one of my biggest passions, I wanted to write a book that helps others on their own quest for deeper meaning. I also love the pure entertainment of escapist fantasy, yet bringing scientific enquiry and philosophy into it, to provoke altered perceptions. How did you develop your plot and your characters? First I start with the overview and framework skeleton. Then I mark in, when and where, I’d like key points to happen. To me it is similar to song writing as far as the overall form of the story goes. It needs to have an arc with tension and resolve. Most of my characters are initially inspired by people I know in reality as I find it easier to transport their idiosyncratic styles and behaviours, although a few characters almost seem to write themselves and I have no idea where they originate from, it was quite a peculiar unfolding.

What inspired your protagonist?

When I first started writing I was given some advice to write what you know, so I decided to base a lot of November Fox’s character on my own life as a touring and performing musician. A lot of the things she discovers a things I discovered myself during my adventurous twenties. My lucid dreams play a big part in my research and inspiration.

What inspired your antagonist?

Because of my interest in consciousness there is always the counterpart, the unconscious. This shadowy side, is this darker side of human nature is what inspired my antagonist.

What was the hardest part to write in the book?

The hardest part is the endurance required to stick at it, year after year until the art form is ready for the world. I’m quite sure the next books I will do, will come much faster as I learn so much along the way. Living a somewhat hermit lifestyle for so long was also quite tough. There were many days and weeks and months where I hardly saw any friends or left the comfort of my dressing gown. It’s such a cathartic and intense experience to write a book and I compounded my workload by deciding to have the augmented reality components as well as connected music project.

About the Author


E.E. Bertram (Esther Bertram) is an Author, Musician & Media Artist. Her dedication, creative mind, and technical skill set enable her to create innovative and original expressions, combining wisdom and fantasy, to assist her life’s mission – “To inspire wonder and growth.” After more than a decade of touring Europe and recording as a professional singer/songwriter and producer of electronic music, Esther has spent 5 years creating the media-fusion, metaphysical, fantasy, science fiction novel “November Fox.” The book incorporates Augmented Reality with a connected music project. This pioneering way of story telling is on the leading edge of what is possible when you combine technology with art.

Links:

E.E. Bertram Website | Good Reads | Twitter | Instagram

November Fox is 60% off on Amazon.
Get your copy now! 🙂

Thank you to E.E. Bertram for such a wonderful interview and I hope, if you’re a fan of visionary fiction that you will check out November Fox. – Leticia

One thought on “November Fox by E.E. Bertram

Leave a Reply

