Spotlight Interview · Spotlight Interview Thursdays

Spotlight Interview with author L. Ron Gardner

glow in the dark

Can you tell us a little about yourself and your background?

I am 65, and have had more jobs than I can count. I’ve been a partner in computer and water filter businesses, but my most successful and interesting work was as a professional sportsbetting arbitrager living in Las Vegas.   

What inspired you to write?

The fact that I have unique deep and interesting things to say. I’m probably the foremost expert in the world on the subject of spiritual philosophy. 

What inspired your novel? 

My desire to combine my crazy, unconventional wit and sense of humor with my expertise in spirituality and sociopolitics (I have a B.A. in sociology). I loved the idea of combining these three things into a fictional format.  

What is the genre?

Spiritual/sociopolitical/quasi-erotic fiction  

What draws you to this genre?

It combines the subjects that interest me.

How did you develop your plot and your characters?

Spontaneously. It’s as if the book wrote itself, because my subconscious had been working on the ideas for years. 

What inspired your protagonist?

I wanted him to embody John Galt-like qualities, except be wilder and a spiritual and physical master as well as an intellectual one.  

What inspired your antagonist? 

Barack Obama. 

What was the hardest part to write in the book? 

The descriptions of the MMA fights. My protagonist is a world-class martial artist, and because I had no experience writing on MMA fighting, I had to work hard to put together the fight scenes. 

What was your favourite part of your book to write?

The interactions between the protagonist, Jack Cohen, and his sadistic dominatrix girlfriend, Mary McDonald. 

Are you a full time or a part time writer? If part time, what do you do besides write?

Part time. I’m also a spiritual teacher (with two blogs and a Facebook group), and am focusing on making money by arbitraging the Mexican peso and U.S. dollar. 

What are you currently reading? 

Various books on Eastern mysticism, especially those on Yogacara, Madhyamika and Tibetan Buddhism, along with ones on Hindu tantra and nondual Kashmir Shaivism.  

Who would you say are your favourite authors?

Ayn Rand, Adi Da Samraj, Bernard McGinn

How about your favourite books? What would be your top 5? 

The Method of the Siddhas, The Knee of Listening, Talks with Sri Ramana Maharshi, The Philosophy of Sadhana, and Introduction to Objectivist Epistemology. 

What are your future projects, if any?

I have a list of 25 more books I want to write. The next two will be meditation texts: one on Power of Now meditation, and one on Dzogchen.  

What is your preferred method for readers to get in touch with you and your books? 

People can freely email me at lrongardner@hotmail.com, and check out my books at Amazon.

Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?

Write for the love of it and not the money, because the odds of achieving big-time commercial success are slim.

Leave a Reply

