Spotlight Interview · Spotlight Sunday's

Spotlight Interview with author Billy Miner

 

sunday

Can you tell us a little about yourself and your background? 
The funny thing is, I never started writing much before, because I didn’t think there was any money to be made. There are millions of books in the world, and how was I going to make mine stand out from the rest? There was no way. I did, however, have a knack for storytelling, and my younger sister and others were always intrigued when I made up plots on the spot. I am 34 years old. I have a wife and 1 daughter. We live in the United States, and publishing books has become my full-time job.

What inspired you to write?
At first, I illustrated books. I have a passion for drawing as well as storytelling. Then I created my own books, but they didn’t take off. I wondered what I was doing wrong and started looking for answers on Youtube. That’s when I bumped into all these “gurus” who were making thousands of dollars with Kindle publishing. And once I found out the trick, I started writing my own books.

What inspired your novel?
My book is actually a combination of short stories. The Minecraft game has become more popular, and I took the opportunity to see if these books would sell. So I came up with stories about pigmen with split personalities, little war stories that related to Robin Hood or other movies I’ve seen, and funny conversations I could put into the books.

What is the genre?
Youth fiction, obviously, probably for kids between 8 and 14.

What draws you to this genre?
Honestly, I like to make up short stories, and I am really proud of some of them, like the Minecraft Superhero, where the main character foresees the future and then goes out to change it.

How did you develop your plot and your characters?
I based the plots and characters off of other books, movies, and video games. When you write 50 books, you have to start getting really creative after a while, because each story should be different.

What inspired your protagonist?
The protagonists are always the heroes or heroines. They either want to solve a mystery, rescue their beloved friend or family member, or prevent the village or city from being destroyed.

What inspired your antagonist?
Since these are kids’ stories, the villains aren’t very complicated. Sometimes they reveal some hurt feelings, but most times, they’re just pure evil.

What was the hardest part to write in the book?
Coming up with a completely different story each time.

What was your favourite part of your book to write?
When I got great ideas, like the first story about being prepared to be a king, or the Minecraft Girls story where two completely different girls are friends but have a hard time getting along.

Are you a full time or a part time writer? If part time, what do you do besides write?
Full time. When you know how to leverage Kindle, Createspace, and ACX platforms, you can make a ton of money.

What are you currently reading?
Books about copywriting. I want to become better at that.

Who would you say are your favourite authors?
You know, the funny thing is that I never read a lot of novels, and it’s because I always preferred comic books. Like I said, I had a passion for drawing and images, so I was very visual. I read a lot of “Spawn” comics, and in Europe, Asterix.

How about your favourite books? What would be your top 5?
Mmmm… I don’t know about the entire top 5, but one of my favorites has always been “A Little Princess” by Frances Hodgson Burnett (did I spell that right?) The messages about selflessness and imagination are so inspiring in that book. I love it.

What are your future projects, if any?
More Minecraft books. I am working on some Self Adventures now, where the reader gets to choose his or her own direction and determine the plot that way.

What is your preferred method for readers to get in touch with you and your books? Email. billyminer2@yahoo.com
Good Reads

Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?
Do your keyword research on Amazon! If your book is great but your keyword isn’t, your books won’t sell. It’s as simple as that. Learn the tricks of putting your books on Kindle, Createspace, and ACX. There are techniques and tricks that will help boost your income. There are courses about those things, so check them out. Some people have courses, like Stefan James, Luca De Stefani, Jason Bracht, Tom Corson-Knowles, Nick Stephenson, and others, who are making tons of money with publishing. They know what they’re doing.

 

 

Leave a Reply

