Featured Author · Spotlight Interview

Spotlight Interview with author Stacy Hoff

daze

 
Genre: 
Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Soul Mate Publishing
Publication Date: September 28, 2016
Pages: 160 pages
Add to Good Reads

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Can you tell us a little about yourself and your background?
I am a full-time attorney, wife, and mother of two boys (ages eleven and fourteen). My only chance to write is late at night, when the rest of my household is fast asleep. Not surprisingly, coffee is my best friend.

JOCKEYING FOR YOU will be my forth novel with Soul Mate Publishing, Inc. I have two more complete manuscripts under contract with Soul Mate. Those two books will start a new series.

What inspired you to write?
Who knows how my quirky mind works? I’ve always had a strong creative side. I’ve been writing and drawing since I was little.

What inspired your novel?
JOCKEYING FOR YOU was inspired by the 2015 Triple Crown. I was truly wowed by American Pharoah.

What is the genre?
JOCKEYING FOR YOU is a contemporary romance. It could also be considered “sports romance,” with one major exception–the heroine is the athlete instead of the hero.

What draws you to this genre?
I write the type of book I like to read. Contemporary romance has been my favorite genre for as long as I can remember.

How did you develop your plot and your characters?
They developed organically. I am a true “pantser” (someone who writes “by the seat of their pants”). Sometimes I write a whole book with nothing planned out, other than a vague sense of the “tag line.” This may sound like a creative freefall, but I like not knowing what happens next. It’s the exact opposite part of my brain I use when I’m in lawyer-mode.

What inspired your protagonist?
I wanted a character who had an emotional journey as dramatic as the storyline itself.

What inspired your antagonist?
I always conjure up the antidote to my hero and/or heroine, and then begin to flesh the villain out. The villain in this book is motivated by greed and control.

What was the hardest part to write in the book?
Accurate sports details. I always sweat when it comes to getting details right. Precision is important to me.

What was your favourite part of your book to write?
My favourite part was writing the sections where I had conducted real-life research. I had visited the New York Racing Association’s famous race tracks, Belmont Park and the Saratoga Race Course. I also spent time at the National Museum of Racing and Hall of Fame in Saratoga Springs, New York. After my trip, I wrote these sections in mere days.

Are you a full time or a part time writer? If part time, what do you do besides write?
As an attorney, I draft and review business contracts all day. I recently celebrated my twentieth year in practice.

What are you currently reading?
Because my younger son has dyslexia, I read his assigned books along with him. “The Giver” by Lois Lowry is the book we’re reading now.

Who would you say are your favourite authors?
Kristan Higgins, Diana Gabaldon and Charlaine Harris.

How about your favourite books? What would be your top 5?
It seems that every time I pick up a romance book, it becomes my new favorite. But right now I’m focusing on series, since I’m in the process of writing a trilogy myself. Some of my favorite series are: J. Kenner’s “Release Me,” Chloe Neill’s “Chicagoland Vampires,” and Vanessa Kelly’s “The Renegade Royals.”

What are your future projects, if any?
The series I’m currently working on is BUILDING LOVE. Book 1 is BUILDING LOVE IN VEGAS and book 2 is BUILDING LOVE IN THE CARIBBEAN. This series is set in the construction industry, and is jammed packed with family drama, secrets and lies. Not to mention plenty of passion!

What is your preferred method for readers to get in touch with you and your books?
I love to hear from readers! They can connect with me the following ways:
Website: https://www.stacyhoff.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorStacyHoff
Amazon author’s page: https://www.amazon.com/Stacy-Hoff/e/B00NN0HCW8
Twitter: @authorStacyHoff

Do you have any advice for aspiring authors? 
Yes. Join a writing organization. I joined a chapter of RWA (Romance Writers of America) and it changed my life.

One thought on “Spotlight Interview with author Stacy Hoff

Leave a Reply

